Welcome Guest!
Create an Account
login email:
password:
site searchcontact usabout usadvertise with ushelp
Message Board

BobcatAttack.com Message Board
Ohio Basketball
Topic:  Technical foul question

Topic:  Technical foul question
Author
Message
bobcat2nc
General User

Member Since: 12/28/2004
Post Count: 584

Status: Offline

  Message Not Read  Technical foul question
   Posted: 1/13/2016 3:38:17 PM 
Admittedly, I am not completely up on all BB rules. I did not understand why BG gained possession after the T's.

I thought that the technical fouls would be assessed and then play would resume at the point when the game was interrupted. In other words, I thought play would resume with BG shooting the foul shot from the 3 point play. obviously I was wrong.

Can anyone shed light on how the penalties for the situation played out? Did BG's one T cancel out one of Ohio's? I have read the pertinent sections of NCAA Men's Basketball Rules but can't quite decide how they got to the number of free throws awarded and the ball going back to them.

Thanks
Back to Top
  
shabamon
General User



Member Since: 11/17/2006
Location: Cincinnati
Post Count: 6,878

Status: Offline

  Message Not Read  RE: Technical foul question
   Posted: 1/13/2016 4:07:11 PM 
Free throws are assessed in the order that the fouls occurred. Jaaron's foul occured first, so the "and1" throw is first followed by the technicals. Ali shot five free throws, so BG's technical cancelled one of ours.
Back to Top
  
Panda
General User

Member Since: 12/22/2004
Post Count: 280

Status: Offline

  Message Not Read  RE: Technical foul question
   Posted: 1/13/2016 9:21:23 PM 
I thought that once the tech fouls were finished that possession would go to the team with the alternate arrow. Could be wrong..


Panda

Back to Top
  
UpSan Bobcat
General User



Member Since: 8/30/2005
Location: Upper Sandusky, OH
Post Count: 3,812

Status: Offline

  Message Not Read  RE: Technical foul question
   Posted: 1/13/2016 10:08:50 PM 
Technical fouls always result in possession going to the team shooting the free throws. It's quite a stiff penalty.
Back to Top
  
bobcat2nc
General User

Member Since: 12/28/2004
Post Count: 584

Status: Offline

  Message Not Read  RE: Technical foul question
   Posted: 1/14/2016 5:38:47 PM 
Thanks for the responses and explanations. Here is something I found in rules manual in the section of "Fouls and Penalties". In the past couple of years I know I have seen technical fouls that after the free throw was shot the ball went back to the other team. So from this


"RESUMPTION OF PLAY—For any technical foul(s), play shall resume
at the point of interruption except for a single flagrant 2 technical
foul or a single contact dead ball technical foul (Art. 1.e through .k).
For a single flagrant 2 technical foul or a single contact dead ball
technical foul, the ball shall be awarded to the offended team at a
designated spot at the division line on either side of the playing court"

This must mean that the fouls were considered to be contact dead ball fouls (since no one was ejected for a flagrant 2 foul) so that the play did NOT resume at the point of interruption


For those who like these kinds of things here is the link to the current rules publication:

http://www.ncaapublications.com/productdownloads/BR17.pdf
Back to Top
  
Showing Replies:  1 - 5  of 5 Posts
Jump to Page:  1
View Other 'Ohio Basketball' Topics
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             





Copyright ©2025 BobcatAttack.com. All rights reserved.  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Partner of USA TODAY Sports Digital Properties